Cuartel General del Ejército de Tierra
Palacio de Buenavista
The Army Headquarters and its extensive garden next to the Cibeles
The Army Headquarters stands out on account of its remarkable location. Established in the old Buenavista palace, sponsored by the Duke of Alba and designed by the architect Ventura Rodríguez, its southern façade facing the Calle Alcalá forms the backbone of a remarkable garden that sets the whole of Paseo del Prado against a unique scenic backdrop.
The first stone was laid in 1777; nevertheless, the two fires suffered by the construction during its initial works, which affected the structure of the building, led to a series of transformations that altered its original shape. Then, in the 19th century, and following various transfers of the extensive property, it was assigned by Fernando VII to the Army, which turned it into the Artillery and Engineers Museum. In 1847 it was handed over to the Ministry of War, undergoing since then a series of alterations and, above all, a substantial extension to the north, as well as new buildings in the current streets of Prim and Barquillo.