Puerta de Felipe IV
Jardines del Buen Retiro
This imposing gate, also known as La Puerta del Ángel y de Mariana de Neoburgo, was built in the vicinity of the monastery of Los Jerónimos and the Paseo del Prado, in the current Calle Felipe IV, to close the Real Sitio del Buen Retiro. It was financed by the Madrid City Council in order to celebrate the entry into the Court of the aforementioned queen, the second wife of Carlos II, in May 1690. The plans were drawn up by the architect Melchor de Bueras. In 1880 it was moved to this site as an iconic entrance to the Jardín del Parterre, once the remains of the palatial constructions of the gardens of the former royal site had been segregated and the plots resulting from the demolition of the Palace had subsequently been developed.
With an arch plan view, it is formed of three wide openings, one central and two at the ends, joined by railings set between pillars. The original gate is the central one, as the rest was an extension made in 1880 to move it to its current location. The central cartouche, under the shield, bears the inscription «Egre dehe Maria Ana tui soi aconcorcui utarcu et colosos quot nume genia erigis elogia ave et fave 1690».
© Antonello Dellanotte